Select Page

On Saturday, May 4th in the Perry Campus Center, Alice Lloyd College celebrated the Class of 2024 at the annual baccalaureate and commencement ceremonies.

The baccalaureate began at 10:30 am with an invocation and scripture reading by graduating students Abigail Dobson and Brittany Taylor. College President Jim Stepp welcomed everyone and introduced the speaker, Lighthouse Baptist Church Pastor and Alice Lloyd College alum Reverend Jamie Hughes. Reverend Hughes shared stories of his time at the College, expressed his love of Pippa Passes, and explained how the College will always be home to everyone that walks along Purpose Road. A congressional hymn followed Reverend Hughes’ message and graduating senior Christopher Strickland gave the benediction. The ceremony ended with a brief reception.

After a brief reception under the eave of the Perry Campus Center, commencement began at 12:15 pm when Chief Marshall and ALC Assistant Professor of Business Mrs. Denise Jacobs led the processional into the gymnasium. The Voices of Appalachia choir performed our National Anthem after the invocation, and President Stepp once again welcomed the audience and provided his congratulatory remarks.

College Vice President for Institutional Advancement Dr. Allison Southard then introduced the commencement speaker, ALC Trustee Hilda Legg. Hilda shared her wisdom with the Class of 2024, sharing her secrets to success and staying true to Christian teachings.

Academic Dean Charles Marshall then presented the Class of 2024 and began the conferring of degrees with President Stepp. This year, the College graduated 93 students. Of these graduates, 35 graduated with honors, 28 with high honors, and 6 earned the honor of being named Class Valedictorians. The Class of 2024 Valedictorians are Mr. Tayton Baker, Ms. Kennedy Clarkson, Ms. Ellie Finley, Mr. Hogan Hinkle, Ms. Lindsey Saylor, and Mr. Peyton Sexton. The Class of 2024 Salutatorian is Ms. MaKenna Morgan.

Special announcements were made following the conferring of degrees and presentation of academic honors. ALC Professor of Chemistry Dr. Paul Yeary was presented with the Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award. Mr. Diamond Slone was presented with the Leadership in Service Award. These awards recognize their recipients for their service to students and the College. Following these awards, this year’s graduation ceremony came to a close with the signing of our Alma Mater and a benediction.

With each graduating class, Alice Lloyd College sends out new leaders to serve the Appalachian region. Undoubtedly, the ALC Class of 2024 is prepared to become the future of Appalachia. Once again, congratulations to the ALC Class of 2024!

Below is a list of the 2024 Graduates:

Austin Adkins
Reece Allen
Andrea Anunson
Tayton Baker
Jonathan Blair
Jordyn Blair
Logan Blair
Kennedy Bowen
Dalton Boyd
Hannah Brewer
Sarah Brooks
Jordan Burton
Bethany Butler
Mary Calton
Joshua Campbell
Benjamin Caudill
Harley Caudill
Sarah Cecil
Brooklyn Cheek
Kennedy Clarkson
Kristen Cole-Williamson
Mason Compton
Carter Crawford
Sierra Dawson
Abigail Dobson
Sydney Duncan
Gerald Estep
Jadyn Fields
Ellie Finley
Katlyn Fosskuhl
Anthony Glasgow
Alex Hall
Kelsey Hall
Andrew Hamilton
Andre Harless
Hogan Hinkle
Kason Hofsess
Kaitlyn Howell
Jessica Hunt
Haley Hurd
Olivia Inskeep
Avery Jenkins
Hannah Kash
Weston Keathley
Byron King
Aaron Ledford
Anthony Lewis
Haley Likens
Jacob Lovell
Casey Lowery
Hannah Malcomson
Jacob Martin
Ethan Miller
Brooklyn Moore
MaKenna Morgan
HazelAnn Mosley
Thomas Mullins
Clari-Jane Newman
Madison Pahmeier-Hanlon
Caroline Parsons
Ronald Pennington
Taylor Perkins
Haley Phipps
Jaden Pugh
Okala Reffett
Adrianna Riley
Dalton Rouse
Jaelyn Sanford
Lindsey Saylor
Peyton Sexton
Savannah Shepherd
Jonathan Sizemore
Madison Sizemore
Adam Slone
Brittany Slone
Robert Slone
Logan Smith
Meggan Smith
Ryan Smith
Austin Stafford
Grant Stivers
Christopher Strickland
Brittany Taylor
Makenna Thompson
Madison Thompson
Damon Tobler, Jr.
Charles Toney
Christian Vanhook
Madison Ward
Jaylan Webb
Eric Williams
Madison Whitt
Misty Wooton