Select Page

Alice Lloyd College held its annual Honor’s Day celebration on Tuesday, April 9th, in the Estelle Campbell Center for the Arts auditorium. This convocation is dedicated to honoring students for their exceptional academic achievements. Numerous awards were given out for student excellence in various majors. Additionally, awards for special achievements made by students in various organizations and community service projects were announced during the ceremony. 

The celebration began with an invocation by Philip Bentley, followed by a song from the Voices of Appalachia Choir. Academic Dean Charles Marshall then welcomed the assembly and praised the ALC Students for their academic success.

Dean Marshall provided updates on the various campus projects that are in progress and upcoming. The creek bank project is nearing completion, and all campus roads and parking lots will soon be repaved. The male dormitories are being renovated, and these renovations will continue over the upcoming summer break. These renovations include remodeled bathrooms, fresh paint, new flooring, and much more.

In addition to the dorm renovations, the Campbell Arts Center lobby will be renovated over the summer, and the Andersen Science Center will receive tech upgrades. Over summer break, the meadow outside of the Campbell Arts Center and June Buchanan School will be turned into a multipurpose turf field. The turf will enable the meadow to be used sooner after inclement weather and be more versatile for student activities such as intramural sports.

Dean Marshall then introduced special guests from Mission of Hope to the audience. Mission of Hope Executive Director David Heatherly made a presentation to Alice Lloyd College that included a generous donation to the College and a donation to the Bill Williams Family Scholarship.

After the presentation, Dean Marshall handed the program to Emcee Dr. Sara Pitts to begin the awards. Alice Lloyd College is extremely proud of its students’ successes. Below is a list of all the day’s honorees. Click on the award name to view photos of the recipients.

Social Sciences and Humanities:

James V. Mongiardo Speech Award:
1st- Justin Witt
2nd- Leah Johnathan
3rd- Mackenzie Slone

Outstanding Senior in Communications Studies:
Haley Phipps

Billie & Curtis Owens Writing Award–Fiction:
1st- Clari-Jane Newman
2nd- Justin Witt
3rd- Jordan Horne

Billie & Curtis Owens Writing Award–Creative Non-Fiction:
1st- Micah Turner

Billie & Curtis Owens Writing Award– Poetry:
1st- Liberty Danner
2nd- Kamryn Hoiska
3rd- Jadyn Fields

Outstanding Senior in English:
Abigail Dobson

Outstanding Senior in Theatre:
Clari-Jane Newman

VoA Alumni Award for Dedication and Excellence:
Machaela Short

Walter William Bettinger Endowed Award:
Madison Sizemore

Outstanding Senior in History:
Jadyn Fields and Grant Stivers

Outstanding Senior in Criminal Justice:
Tristan Campbell

Outstanding Senior in Sociology:
Austin Adkins

Outstanding Senior in Political Science:
Gabriel Horsley

Natural Science and Mathematics:

Outstanding Senior in Biology:
Ellie Finley

Dr. Anthony & Kathy Stumbo Pre-Med Scholarship:
Mason Compton

The Drs. Brandon and Hillarie Amburgey Medical Scholarship
Anthony Lewis

Outstanding Senior in Mathematics:
Riley Schreck

Whitfield Cobb Award for Statistics (Math 250):
Madelyn Conn

Outstanding Senior in Kinesiology:
Dalton Boyd

Melvin and Mae Kibler Award for Chemistry:
Hogan Hinkle

General Chemistry Achievement:
Terry Holland

The Walter Herman Isler Endowed Award:
Hayden Pratt

Donald John Bettinger Chemistry Scholarship:
Tayton Baker


Knott County Retired Teachers Association Award:
Abigail Dobson

Edward and Charlotte Madden Award for Outstanding Education Student:
MaKenna Morgan

KEA Leadership Award:
Sydney Duncan

KEA Mentorship Award:
Hunter Triplett

KEA Membership Award:
Garrett Reynolds

Business and Leadership:

Rachel D. Mullinax Award for Outstanding Senior Accounting Student:
Peyton Sexton and Kane Scarberry

Whitfield Cobb Award for Statistics:
Jaelyn Sanford

Alice Geddes Lloyd Leadership Award:
Jaylan Webb, Jaden Pugh, Makenna Morgan, Andrea Anunson, Andrew Hamilton, and Brittany Taylor

Jean H. Ingles Award:
Rachel Yeomans

The Fred J. Becker Award in Business:
Zachary Willis

Outstanding Senior in Business Administration:
Jaylan Webb and Jaden Pugh

Whitfield Cobb Award for Leadership Education 101:
Jamie Cowan

Outstanding Senior in Sports & Fitness Programs Management:
Jacob Lovell

All-College Awards:

George I. Alden Scholarship:
Madison Ward

Ruth S. Preston Scholarship:
Antha and Austin Wilson

The Alice Lloyd Scholastic Society Award:
Audrey Evans, Allison Hanlon, Adam Jenkins, Jackson Kelly, Sarah Leach, Nikolas McDaniel, Dylan Moore, Kelsey Noble, Aaron Rothballer, and Jackson Tackett

Presidential Volunteer Service Award:
Hannah Craft and Hadley Craft

Fred L. Mullinax Leadership Award:
Charity Sizemore

Kentucky Eta Chapter of Alpha Chi New Members:
Emma Bates, Tristan Campbell, Jonathan Combs, Hogan Hinkle, Terry Holland, John Smith, Riley Schreck, Grant Stivers, and Chloe Watts

Katherine Anne Haigler Memorial Award:
Okala Reffett

Alice Lloyd College Dr. David Martin Scholar-Athlete Award:
Madison Ward and Mason Compton

Shirley Bradley Haws Memorial Scholarship Award:
Ryan Marcum

Will and Edith Hayes Freshman Leadership Award:
Micah Turner

Earl and Eleanor Holbrook Endowed Scholarship:
Jordan Horne

Student Teacher Award Sponsored by the Class of 1982:
Riley Schreck

Campus Spirit Award Sponsored by the ALC Alumni Association:
Hadley Craft

Alice Lloyd Centennial Alumni Scholarship:
Reese Stivers

Campus Community Award Sponsored by the Hindman Lions Club:
Byron McKae King

Robert C. Thacker Endowed Scholarship Award:
Shaina Epperson

Thelmarie M. Thornsberry Endowed Scholarship Award:
Aubree Laster

Chief Deputy Bobby Wayne Jacobs Memorial Scholarship:
Chloe Everidge

Judy Ann Howard Memorial Award:
Allison Hanlon

Sharlee Wright Memorial Award:
Nikolas Chasteen

Geraldine Snodgrass Achievement Award:
Adrianna Riley, Abigail Dobson, Jaelyn Sanford, and Sydney Duncan

Harold M. Finley Endowed Award:
Abigail Potter

Bobby Moore Endowed Award:
Micah Turner

Wendell & Maude Hammond Hope Cottage Award:
Brooklyn Baker

Ella M. Geddes Servant Leadership Award:
Hadley Craft and Lathan Cornett

Mary Mildred Sullivan Award:
Brittany Taylor

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award:
Jonathan Blair

Joseph and Irma Derderian Stepp Outstanding Senior Award:
Adrianna Riley and Robert Wesley Slone