Select Page

On Saturday, May 6th in the Perry Campus Center, Alice Lloyd College celebrated the Class of 2023 at the annual baccalaureate and commencement ceremonies.

The baccalaureate began at 10:30 am with an invocation and scripture reading by graduating students Lucas Mitchell Hall and Emily Joy Brock. College President Jim Stepp welcomed everyone and introduced the speaker, Caney Junior College alum Reverend Lawrence Baldridge, who has served as the pastor of Caney Baptist Church in Pippa Passes since 1964. Reverend Baldridge shared stories of his time at the College, his memories of Mrs. Lloyd, and how the College’s success truly is a miracle on Caney Creek. A congregational hymn followed Reverend Baldridge’s message about creating a beautiful mind. Graduating senior Ty Reagan gave the benediction and the ceremony ended with a recessional.

After a brief reception under the eave of the Perry Campus Center, commencement began at 12:15 pm when Chief Marshal Dr. Paul Yeary led the processional into the gym. Mr. Philip Bentley gave the invocation which was followed by the National Anthem and a choral performance by the Voices of Appalachia.

President Stepp once again welcomed the audience and provided his congratulatory remarks before Dean Charles Marshall introduced the commencement speaker, ALC Chancellor Joe Stepp. Chancellor Stepp told the graduating class various stories about Mrs. Lloyd and Miss June Buchanan as well as how he came to the College and what it has meant to him over the forty years he has served ALC. Chancellor Stepp presented the graduates with his key to success – serve God first and then your fellow man.

Dean Marshall then presented the Graduating Class of 2023 and began the conferring of degrees with President Stepp. After the graduates walked the stage and received their degrees, Dean Marshall presented the thirty-nine students who graduated with honors as well as the two valedictorians and the salutatorian. The 2023 valedictorians are Penny Summer Mullins, who completed a Bachelor of Arts in Communications Studies with a minor in History, and Corbett Noah Caudill who completed a Bachelor of Arts in Communications Studies with a minor in Mathematics. The 2023 salutatorian is Lawrence Jaden Charles Gay who completed a Bachelor of Science in Biology.

Special presentations followed the conferring of degrees and presentation of academic honors. Dr. Cindy Salmons was presented with the Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award and Ms. Sheena Turner was presented with the Leadership in Service Award in recognition of their service to students and the College. President Jim Stepp and Board of Trustees Chairman Robert M. Duncan then presented Chancellor Joe Stepp with an Honorary Doctorate in recognition of his service at Alice Lloyd College. The ceremony came to a close with the singing of the Alma Mater, a benediction by Mr. Larry Adams, and the recessional.

This year, ninety-two senior students completed their degree and work study requirements, and ninety-one walked across the stage during Saturday’s graduation. Of the ninety-two 2023 graduates, thirty-nine graduated with honors and sixteen graduated with high honors. Four graduates were double majors, and thirty-nine students received minors. Four graduates received two minors for a total of forty-three minors awarded to the 2023 graduating class.

Each year the miracle on Caney Creek continues. With every graduating class, ALC sends out new leaders to serve the Appalachian region. Undoubtedly, the ALC Class of 2023 is prepared to become the future of Appalachia. Once again, congratulations to the ALC Class of 2023!

Below is a list of the 2023 Graduates:
Madison Hazel Adams
Lyndsey Clay Adkins
Isaiah Scott Beckett
Madison Rayne Bentley
Micah Quin Blankenship
Kaitlyn Nicole Bogar
Bailee Danielle Brainard
Peyton Scott Branham
David Hunter Brock
Emily Joy Brock
Samantha Nicole Bryant
Jacob Hunter Bush
Kendra Renee Casey
Cumecus Radrelle Cates
Corbett Noah Caudill
Thomas Evan Caudill
Katrina Marie Collett
Jaisen Douglas Collins
Kendra Paige Collins
Samuel Stamper Collins
Carla Renee Combs
Raegan Brooke Cooper
Sean Anthony Cooper
Baylee Dee Cox
Richard Hunter Craft
Johnathan Andrew Crawford
Abigale Faith Damron
Noah Ryan Dingess
Izaeyah Nikoles Dotson
Jennifer Bethany Droke
Jasmine Lee Eley
Abby Elizabeth Enfusse
Makayla Yvonne Eversole
Jonathan Cannon Ferrell
Haley Isabelle Fields
Lawrence Jaden Charles Gay
Bryan Tyler Gibson
William Drake Gladson
Gabriel Andrew Graham
Hayden Wesley Halbert
Lucas Mitchell Hall
Ryan McKay Hall
Tori Faith Hampton
Korey Chase Hanson
Nicholas Allen Hatfield
Charla Jayde Hawks
Steven Ty Hollon
Haley Mariah Howell
Luke Konnor Jacobs
Vakaria Divonn Jones
Kara Lukeisha Joseph
Sydnee Rae Madden
Heather Adrionna Maggard
Hunter Keegan Mason
Elisha Brook Maynard
Whitney Natasha Maynard
Cheyna Cora Lynn McCoy
Reiley Jayd McCoy
Elizabeth Carol Mcintosh
Kedrick Graham Mckinney
Jacob Alexander Melton
Alexis Jade Morris
Ean Michael Mullins
Penny Summer Mullins
Madison Monroe Nantz
Kursten Rae Napier
Karen Leona Newsome
Dakota Ryan Owens
Kenlee Marie Owens
Britain Nicole Peele
William Matthew Philpot
Kourtlie Beth Ratliff
Ty Alexander Reagan
Dasha Jane Roberts
Jaiden Mae Robinson
Hannah Michelle Sexton
Logan Faith Sexton
Devyn Nicole Shoemaker
Bryce Irton Slone
Jami Nicole Spriggs
Kaitlyn Grace Stacy
Colyn Dean Sturgill
Kandace Noel Sturgill
Taylor Nicole Sturgill
Sebastian O Bryan Tackett
Michaela Elizabeth Thompson
Kasey Lavonna Turner
Mahala Brooke Ward
Abigail Rose Webb
Joshua Lee Whitaker
Savannah Paige Whitaker
Cameron Jarrod Worrix