Select Page

MIDDLETOWN, Ohio — The 2019-20 All-River States Conference Women’s Basketball Teams & Awards as selected by the 12 RSC head coaches have been announced here at University of Rio Grande (Ohio) senior guard Sydney Holden headlines the list of 20 players named to the all-conference teams as the RSC Women’s Basketball Player of the Year. 

Holden, a 5-9 native of Wheelersburg, Ohio, was the top vote-getter in the polling of the league’s coaches and leads the All-RSC First Team selections. She averaged 15.7 points, 8.5 rebounds, 6.5 assists and 1.8 steals per game, leading the RedStorm in all four categories.

Holden, who ranks third nationally in assists per game and second in total assists (201), was very efficient offensively shooting 50 percent from the field, 41 percent from beyond the arc and 83 percent at the foul line. 

WVU Tech head coach Anna Kowalska was named RSC Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year. She is in her second year at the helm, and it is her second year in a row earning the honor. Kowalska has led the Golden Bears to the RSC Regular Season Championship at 24-7 overall, 16-0 RSC and a No. 23 NAIA Division II Top 25 ranking. Next up for WVU Tech is the national tournament as an automatic qualifier.

Asbury (Ky.) University freshman forward Zaria Napier was chosen as the RSC Women’s Basketball Newcomer of the Year. She was the top vote-getter among players new to the conference this year. Napier, a 5-11 native from Stanford, Ky., earned a spot on the All-RSC First Team leading Asbury with 15.4 points, 7.2 rebounds and 1.2 blocks per game.

WVU Tech guard Brittney Justice was second in the RSC Player of the Year race after averaging 17.1 points per game and shooting 52 percent from the field with 50 made 3-pointers. Carlow (Pa.) University senior forward Emma Stille was also high in the voting averaging 13.1 points and a league-high 15.5 rebounds per game. Ohio Christian University guard Staci Pertuset is leading the conference in scoring at 20.8 points per game along with 8.2 rebounds and 4.4 assists.

Also on the All-RSC First Team are IU Kokomo forward Tia Chambers (15.9 ppg, 10.1 rpg), Midway (Ky.) University forward Jill Enix (16.8 ppg, 5.9 rpg), Alice Lloyd (Ky.) College guard Haley Hall (17.3 ppg, 6.0 rpg), IU East guard Kamiylah Bomar (14.1 ppg), IU Southeast forward Hannah Coleman (11.1 ppg, 6.7 rpg) and Point Park (Pa.) University guard Michelle Burns (15.8 ppg, 4.2 apg).

The All-RSC Second Team had two players from IU East to lead the conference with the other seven selections from seven different schools. See below for the complete selections to the All-RSC first and second teams. 

Also named was the RSC Women’s Basketball Champions of Character Team. The team recognizes those nominated by their head coach who best exhibit the five character values of NAIA Champions of Character, which are respect, responsibility, integrity, servant leadership and sportsmanship. 

RSC Player of the Year: Sydney Holden, Sr., G, Rio Grande (Ohio)
RSC Coach of the Year: Anna Kowalska, WVU Tech, 2nd season
RSC Newcomer of the Year: Zaria Napier, Fr., F, Asbury (Ky.)


Name Pos. Cl. School
Sydney Holden G Sr. Rio Grande
Brittney Justice G Jr. WVU Tech
Emma Stille F Sr. Carlow
Staci Pertuset G Sr. Ohio Christian
Tia Chambers F So. IU Kokomo
Jill Enix F So. Midway
Haley Hall G Jr. Alice Lloyd
Kamiylah Bomar G Sr. IU East
Zaria Napier F Fr. Asbury
Hannah Coleman F Sr. IU Southeast
Michelle Burns G Jr. Point Park


Name Pos. Cl. School
Taylor Rinn F Fr. Point Park
Cassidy Moss F Jr. Brescia
Alexandria Gray G Jr. WVU Tech
Reagan Hune G Fr. IU East
Lexi Woods F Fr. Rio Grande
Addie Brown G So. IU East
Autumn Herriford G Jr. Asbury
Rachel Gillum F Fr. Ohio Christian
Madi Woods G Sr. IU Southeast


School Name
Alice Lloyd College Jayla Spurlock
Asbury University Faith Osborne
Brescia University Cassidy Moss
Indiana University East Addie Brown
Indiana University Kokomo Sierra Peete
Indiana University Southeast Madi Woods
Midway University Jill Enix
Ohio Christian University Rachel Gillum
Point Park University Tyra James
University of Rio Grande Avery Harper
WVU Tech Makayla Jones

Click Here for the Original Article