Select Page

Ryan Morris

Brittney Buttrey

Cheyenne Boggs

Zach Templeton

Owensboro, KY. – Point Park (Pa.) captured the women’s team championship while West Virginia Tech University claimed the men’s team championship at the 2018 River States Conference Women’s/Men’s Cross Country Championship held Saturday, Nov. 3 at Brescia (Ky.) University. As a result, the two squads qualified for the NAIA Cross Country National Championship Nov. 16 at Cedar Rapids, Iowa (IO).

For the women, Point Park had 28 points in the team standings in winning their third title in the past four years and had three of the top six runners. Point Park senior All-American Anna Shields led the Pioneers to the team championship by placing first individually with a record time of 17:42 in the 5,000 meter (3.1 mile).

Alice Lloyd finished 7th of the 12 participating teams and was led by senior Brittney Buttrey who finished 20th out of 101 total runners in a new women’s school record time of  20:41.

ALC Women Results

Brittney Buttrey-20:41.60; Rachel McCoy- 20:54.72; Brooke Vanover-21:50.24; Morgan Arthur-22:05.36; Kacey Trout-23:46.37; Cheyenne Boggs-24:44.28; Hannah Bryant-24:55.16.

For the men, 22nd ranked WV Tech won the 8,000 meter (5 mile) team title with 29 points and had four of the top six runners. Dan Nehnevai of West Virginia Tech was the winner in a time of 26:20.

Alice Lloyd finished 9th of the 12 participating teams and was led by sophomore Ryan Morris who finished 19th out of 121 total runners in a new men’s school record time of 27:44.

ALC Men Results

Ryan Morris27:44.40; Nicholas Saylor29:55.25; Noah Stevenson- 30:32.07; Ty Reagan32:26.1; John Driskill- 33:31; Dakota Owens 34:03.85 Zach Templeton 35:14.89

Seniors Cheyenne Boggs and Zach Templeton were selected by the conference as the schools’ winners for the Champions of Character Team.

Alice Lloyd will conclude the cross country season Saturday, November 10, as both squads travel to Point Lookout, Missouri (College of the Ozarks) to participate in the 2018 NCCAA DII National Cross Country Championships. Both squads finished third in the country last season, and Coach Brandon Arnold’s speedsters are looking to better that mark this time around.

Women’s Results | Men’s Results