Select Page

Alice Lloyd College held its annual Honors Day celebration on Tuesday, April 10th. Numerous awards were given out to students based on their character and academic standing. Special recognition was also given to students for ALC competitions such as the Billie and Curtis Owens Writing Award and the James Mongiardo Speech Award. All the hard work and dedication that the students put in throughout the year was recognized at this special convocation.

Richard Bowers opened the ceremony with an invocation and a song by members of the Voices of Appalachia. President Joe Stepp addressed the faculty, staff, and students on the updates that are taking place on campus. The construction of the new campus center is progressing and new construction on additional classrooms in the Jerry C. Davis Student Center has also begun. New degrees are also expected to begin soon such as the Speech Communications and Theatre Arts Minor and Criminal Justice Major. Such advancements for the college will provide more opportunities for ALC students.

“Honors Day is an opportunity for the faculty, staff, and students at ALC to come together to recognize the achievements of our best students,” said Claude Lafie Crum, Alice Lloyd’s Academic Dean. “So many of our students excel in academics and demonstrate such a strong character, and it truly was a privilege to celebrate those achievements with them.”

Alice Lloyd College is extremely proud of the successes of its students. Below is a list of all the day’s honorees.

Humanities and Fine Arts

Art – Mary S. Meade

Billie & Curtis Owens Writing Award –Creative Nonfiction – Trey Moore

Billie & Curtis Owens Writing Award –Poetry

1st – Joshua Baker

2nd – Emaly Slone

3rd – Dalton McCown

Willard De Filipps Essay Award – Drury Walters

James V. Mongiardo Speech Award

1st – Dalton McCown

2nd – James Lewis

3rd – Matthew Dempsey

Theatre – Stephen Holbrook and Kasie Wallace

VoA Alumni Award for Dedication and Excellence – Kaela Shaw

Walter William Bettinger Endowed Award – John M. Driskill

Natural Science and Mathematics

Biology – Brian C. Nickles

Dr. Anthony Stumbo Pre-Med Scholarship – Brian C. Nickles

The Doctors Brandon and Hillarie Amburgey Medical Scholarship – Jacob Sifers

Melvin and Mae Kibler Award in Chemistry – Jacob Sifers

CRC Freshman Chemistry Achievement – Johnny P. Byrd

Donald John Bettinger Chemistry Scholarship – Zachary Marcum

Mathematics – Jordan Hodge

Whitfield Cobb Award for Statistics – (Math 250) Logan Reed

Kinesiology – John Driskill


Physical Education – Sports & Fitness: Karson Glancy

Student Teacher Award Sponsored by the Class of 1982 – Natasha VanDyke

Knott County Retired Teachers Association Award – Elizabeth B. Combs

Knott County Retired Teachers Association Louise Johnson Award – Elizabeth B. Combs

Edward and Charlotte Madden Award for Outstanding Education Student – Sarah B. Bailey

Social Sciences/Business

Rachel D. Mullinax Award for Outstanding Senior Accounting Student – Matthew Huffman

Whitfield Cobb Award for Statistics – (BUS 295) Joshua Baker

Alice Geddes Lloyd Leadership Award – Jacob Sifers, Rhonda Triplett, Justin Cathers, Natasha VanDyke, Kennedi Damron

Jean H. Ingles Award – Brooklyn Reid

The Fred J. Becker Award in Business – Hayden Martin

History – Jonah Gooch

Outstanding Senior in Sociology – Lydia Bickham

Sociology – Daina Adams, Virginia M. Mooney

Whitfield Cobb Award for Leadership Education 101 – Jacob Sifers

All-College Awards

George I. Alden Scholarship – Katelyn White and Hailey Champion

Ruth S. Preston Scholarship – Montana Blair and Noah Blair

Robert C. Thacker Endowed Scholarship Award – Bristol McGee

The Alice Lloyd Scholastic Award – Montana Blair, Travis Combs, Cadie Gay, Morgan Hurt, Thomas Parker, Dakota Burnett, Rachel G. Driskill, Kelsey Gay, Colbi Johnson

Kentucky Eta Chapter of Alpha Chi – Lydia Bickham, Kennedi Damron, Austin Estridge, Megan Hall, Kristina Helton, TaLaura Mathis, Jordan Pack, Brooklyn Reid, Jeffrey Sergent, Nicholas Short, Jacob Sifers, Natasha VanDyke, Thomas Case, John Driskill, Solomon Fugate, Tami Hall, James Lewis, Brian C. Nickles, Logan Reed, Gabrielle Schwartz, Angela Shepherd, Andrew Shrum, Savannah Sizemore, Jerri Whitner

Kossuth M. Mitchell Scholarship (A. X.) – Lydia Bickham

Katherine Anne Haigler Memorial Award – Virginia M. Mooney

Alice Lloyd College Scholar-Athlete Awards Sponsored by Dr. David Martin – Kayla Wilson and Kennedi Damron

Shirley Bradley Haws Memorial Scholarship Award – Rachel Stepp

Earl and Eleanor Holbrook Endowed Scholarship – Tanton Cook

Will & Edith Hayes Freshman Leadership Award – Alec Taylor

Bobby Moore Endowed Award – Daina Adams

Campus Spirit Award Sponsored by the ALC Alumni Association – Brittney Buttrey

Campus Community Award Sponsored by Hindman Lions Club – Virginia M. Mooney

Thelmarie M. Thornsberry Endowed Scholarship Award – Stephanie Smith

Fred L. Mullinax Leadership Award – Nicholas Hess

Judy Ann Howard Memorial Award – Rachel G. Driskill

Sharlee Wright Memorial Award – Brittney Buttrey

Harold M. Finley Endowed Award – Rachel G. Driskill and Kennedi Damron

Barbara Thomas Most Improved Student Scholarship Award –  Emily Burgin and Virginia M. Mooney

Ella M. Geddes Servant Leadership Award – Bristol McGee and Hayden Martin

Mary Mildred Sullivan Award – Lydia Bickham

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award – Noble Johnson

Joseph and Irma Derderian Stepp Outstanding Senior Award – Kala Thornsbury, Lydia Bickham, and Michael Sexton