Select Page

by Adele Williams, Student Contributor 

honors day collage

Alice Lloyd College held its annual Honors Day celebration on Tuesday, April 14th. During this special and time-honored assembly, students were recognized for their superior achievements in academics. Numerous awards were handed out for excellence in specific subjects and majors. Other prizes were also given, including the Billie and Curtis Owens Writing Awards and the Scholar-Athlete Awards. Awards for special achievements made by students in various organizations and community service projects were also announced.

President Joe Alan Stepp delivered an address in which he noted the changes coming to campus for the fall of 2015. The construction of ALC’s new Bettinger Center for Servant Leadership is currently set to be completed by July 15th. The ALC pottery shop has been fully constructed, and is only lacking signage. In addition to this, renovations are currently being made to the business office, the admissions office, and the meadow next to the Jerry C. Davis Student Center. These renovations are expected to be complete no later than August 1st.  Renovations will also be made to the Campbell Arts Center over the 2015 summer break. The president also announced that a twelve million dollar construction of a Campus Center is in ALC’s near future, but was unable to give specifics as the plans are yet to be set in stone.

“Honors Day is an opportunity for the faculty, staff, and students at ALC to come together to recognize the achievements of our best students,” said Claude Lafie Crum, Alice Lloyd’s Academic Dean. “So many of our students excel in academics and demonstrate such a strong character, and it truly was a privilege to celebrate those achievements with them.”

Alice Lloyd College is extremely proud of the successes of its students. Below is a list of all the day’s honorees.

Humanities & Fine Arts

Art Candace Hoskins

Billie & Curtis Owens Writing Award – Fiction Jason Kyle Ritchie

Billie & Curtis Owens Writing Award – Creative Nonfiction Stephanie Moore

Billie & Curtis Owens Writing Award – Poetry

1st Place – Ian T. Hall

2nd Place Kayla Collins

3rd Place Tarnois Jones

English China Riddle

Speech Award Keaton Morton

Theatre Dakota Lewis

VoA Alumni Award for Dedication and Excellence Kyle Coleman and Shiloh Jekel

Walter William Bettinger Endowed Award Austin Ison

Natural Science and Mathematics

Biology – Hailey Kuracka

Melvin and Mae Kibler Award in Chemistry Hailey Kuracka

CRC Freshman Chemistry Achievement Alyn Jabe Smith

Donald John Bettinger Chemistry Scholarship Austin Allen

Dr. Anthony Stumbo Pre-Med Scholarship Austin Allen

Dr. Larry M. Leslie Pre-Med Scholarship Tawny Aguayo

Whitfield Cobb Award for Statistics Alex Suffridge

Social Science/Business

Rachel D. Mullinax Award for Outstanding Senior in Accounting Maegyn Bates and Allison Holbrook

Outstanding Senior in Business AdministrationKatelin Hylton

Whitfield Cobb Award for Statistics Dakota Justice

Alice Geddes Lloyd Leadership Award Maegyn Bates

Jean H. Ingels Award Sarah Beth Wooldridge

The Fred J. Becker Award in Business Kayla Stambaugh

History Jarrod Stamper

SociologyKylie Clay and Ashley Daily

Whitfield Cobb Award for Leadership Education 101 Victoria Nairn and Ian Hall


Edward Madden Award for Outstanding Education Student Matthew Asher

Knott County Retired Teachers Association Award Kandi Slone

Physical Education & Sports and FitnessCarla Booth, Jarred Tate, Megan Boswell, Craig Faulkner

Student Teacher Award Sponsored by the Class of 1982 Zachary Crawford

All-College Awards

George I. Alden Scholarship Samantha Williams, Joseph Little, Jacquelyn Crawford, and Katie McFarland

Ruth S. Preston Scholarship Samantha and Alex Reynolds

Robert C. Thacker Endowed Scholarship AwardRachel Rice

The Alice Lloyd Scholastic Society Award –

Kristen Rose Campbell

Emily Anne Clonce

Kaci Rae Corum

Jacquelyn A. Crawford

Riccardo Paolo D’Amato

Makayla Rae Hubbard

Mary Ann Isaac

Samuel Abraham Kilburn

Kaelyn Sierra Martin

Brooklyn Dawn McCall

Tailor Danielle Morgan

Lakyn Sheyenne Mullins

Kinsee Hope Petree

Cynthia Denise Taylor

Kentucky Eta Chapter of Alpha Chi –

Sarah Ann Caldwell

Emily Paige Carico

Ashley Leanne Daily

Whitney Tarae Hall

Katelin Faye Hylton

Callie Jade Kiser

Thomas Brent Mills

Stephanie Julia Moore

Samantha Moria Reynolds

China Rae Riddle

Hollie Taina Marie Saylor

Niki Nicole Sizemore

Kossuth M. Mitchell Alpha Chi Scholarship Hollie Saylor

Katherine Anne Haigler Memorial Award Samantha Williams

Alice Lloyd College Scholar Athlete Awards Sponsored by Dr. David Martin Allison Holbrook and Joshua Arnold

Shirley Bradley Haws Memorial Scholarship and AwardBrittany Dalton

Earl and Eleanor Holbrook Endowed Scholarship Whitley Albury

Will and Edith Hayes Freshman Leadership Award Lydia Bickham

Bobby Moore Endowed Award Joseph Little

Campus Spirit Award Sponsored by the ALC Alumni Association Daniel Burgess

Campus Community Award Sponsored by the Hindman Lions Club Amelia Johnson

Thelmarie M. Thornsberry Endowed Scholarship AwardRachel Rice

Fred L. Mullinax Leadership Award Zachary Crawford

Judy Ann Howard Memorial Award Kaelyn Martin

Sharlee Wright Memorial Award Ashleigh Bolduc

Harold M. Finley Endowed Award Candace Hoskins and Ian M. Hall

Barbara Thomas Most Improved Student Scholarship Award

Spring ’14 – Fall ’14 Bonnie Morgan

Fall ’14 – Spring ’15 Cody Malicoat

Ella M. Geddes Servant Leadership Award Rachel Rice and Sarah Woolridge

Mary Mildred Sullivan Award Kylie Clay

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award Kolby Huff

The Bhatia Foundation Award Niki Sizemore and Candace Hoskins

Joe & Irma Derderian Stepp Outstanding Senior AwardAllison Holbrook and Austin Ison