Select Page

Pippa Passes, Ky. — Alice Lloyd College held its annual Honors Day celebration on Tuesday, April 16th. During this special and time-honored assembly, students were recognized for their superior achievements in academics. 

Numerous awards were handed out for excellence in specific subjects and majors. Other prizes were also given, including the James V. Mongiardo Speech Award, the Billie and Curtis Owens Writing Awards, and the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award (for a male and female student). The Berger Scholars, an endowed scholarship for students pursuing advanced, professional degrees in medical fields, were also announced, along with special achievements by students in various organizations and community service projects.

“Honors Day is an opportunity for the faculty, staff, and students at ALC to come together to recognize the achievements of our best students,” said Claude Lafie Crum, Alice Lloyd’s Academic Dean. “So many of our students excel in academics and demonstrate such strong character, and it truly was a privilege to celebrate those achievements with them.”

Alice Lloyd College is extremely proud of the successes of its students. Below is a list of all of the day’s winners.

James V. Mongiardo Speech Award

1st  Place – Ryan Wells

2nd Place – Emmanuel Joseph   

3rd Place – Ashley Daily


Billie and Curtis Owens Writing Award – Fiction

1st Place – Katelin Hylton

2nd Place – Burton Pizzino        

3rd Place – Stephanie Moore


Billie and Curtis Owens Writing Award – Poetry

1st Place – Candace Hughes

2nd Place – Hannah Radosevich

3rd Place – Michaela Woodall   


Billie and Curtis Writing Award – Creative Nonfiction

Winner: Brittany Brock

Outstanding English Major

Corey Wright


Katherine Smith

Voices of Appalachia Alumni Award

Kimberly Collins

Outstanding Biology Major

Paul Brandon McGeorge

CRC Freshman Chemistry Achievement

Austin Hunter Allen

Melvin and Mae Kibler Award in Chemistry

Clyde Hamilton, II

Donald John Bettinger Chemistry Scholarship

Morgan Asher

Dr. Anthony Stumbo Pre-Med Scholarship

Steven Reynolds

Larry M. Leslie Award

Brandon McGeorge

Outstanding Mathematics Major

Isaac Wilson

Whitfield Cobb Award for Statistics

Lesley Hatfield

Rachel D. Mullinax Award for Outstanding Senior in Accounting

(tie) Nicholas Lawson and Brittney Briggs

Outstanding Senior in Business Administration

Rebekah Bevins

Whitfield Cobb Award for Statistics

Dina Albaree

Alice Geddes Lloyd Leadership Award

Callie Childers

Breanna Spence

Kelsey Long

Kaitlin Robinson

Candace Hughes

Jean H. Ingels Award

Amelia Johnson

The Fred J. Becker Award in Business

James Mullins

Outstanding History Major

Robyn Alatza

Outstanding Sociology Major

Robyn Alatza

Whitfield Cobb Award for Leadership Education 101

Jennifer Hall and Whitney Hampton

Edward Madden Award for Outstanding Education Student

Rebecca Miller

Outstanding Physical Education Major

Kayla Gooslin

Joseph Stamper

Billy Deaton

Knott County Retired Teachers Association Award

Richard Brent Hall

Student Teacher Award Sponsored by the Class of 1982

Kelsey Long

George I. Alden Scholarship

Molly Jenkins

James Jackson

Ruth S. Preston Scholarship

Tianna and William Po

Samantha and Steven Reynolds

Emily and Danny Wilson

The Alice Lloyd Scholastic Society Award

Chelsea Morgan Brown

Ashley Leanne Daily

Bridgett Leanne Hibbard

Hailey Shantelle Kuracka

Han Gia Ly

Bonnie Elizabeth Morgan

Whitney Tevae Shell

Sarah Ann Caldwell

Lindsay Lee Fritz

Austin Tyler Ison

Samantha Moria Reynolds

Katie Elizabeth McFarland

Hollie Taina Marie Saylor

Niki Nicole Smith

Kentucky Eta Chapter of Alpha Chi

*Robyn Alatza

Morgan Asher

Sarah Bryant

Amanda Caudill

Whitley Doughman

Erin Enix

*Clyde Hamilton II

*Trista Hibbitts

*Chloe Lemaster

*Steven Reynolds

Keith Ritchie

McKenzie Smith

*David Walker Jr.

Maegen Arrowood

*Rebekah Bevins

Robert Caldwell

Colton Cornett

Asheton Dunaway

Victoria Halcomb

*Lydia Harris

*William Johnson

*Rebecca Martin

China Riddle

*Kaitlin Robinson

Eric Terry

*Denotes Graduating Senior

Kossuth M. Mitchell Alpha Chi Scholarship

Chloe Lemaster

Joseph and Irma Derderian Stepp Endowed Scholarship and Award

Tessa Amburgey and Han Gia Ly

Ella M. Geddes Servant Leadership Award

China Riddle and Brandon Grigsby

Shirley Bradley Haws Memorial Scholarship and Award

Brittany Dalton

Harold M. Finley Endowed Award

Sarah Bryant and Jeronie Caudill

Katherine Anne Haigler Memorial Award

Helen Caudill

Alice Lloyd College Scholar Athlete Awards Sponsored by Dr. David Martin

Rebekah Bevins (Volleyball) and Terrell Muse (Men’s Basketball)

Will and Edith Hayes Freshman Leadership Award

Maegyn Bates

Fred L. Mullinax Leadership Award

Maegen Arrowood

Campus Community Award Sponsored by the Hindman Lions Club

Nicholas Lawson

Campus Spirit Award Sponsored by the ALC Alumni Association

Jennifer Hall

Bobby Moore Endowed Award

Emmanuel Joseph

Barbara Thomas Most Improved Student Scholarship Award

Fall 2012 – Matthew Moorefield

Spring 2013 – Michal Snyder

Mary Mildred Sullivan Award

Kimberly Schroeder

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

Casey Lee Dalton

H.N. and Frances Berger Awards

Robyn Alatza and Casey Lee Dalton

Judy Ann Howard Memorial Award

Maegen Arrowood

Sharlee Wright Memorial Award

Kiana Hall