Select Page

Alice Lloyd College is pleased to announce that twelve students from Eastern Kentucky have received the John S. Carroll Scholarship for this past academic year (2011-2012).

This year’s recipients include:

Haley Boggs of Baxter

Christina Booth of Jackson

Brittany Brock of Warbranch

Jeronie Caudill of Kite

Jessica Ciro of Leburn

Kerri Dixon of Slemp

Alexandrea Frith of Pineville

Danielle Gross of Yeaddiss

Ralph Hall of Wayland

Bonnie Morgan of Stinnett

Jamie Rice of Vancleve

Kayla Watts of Jackson

The Scholarship is named in honor of John Carroll, former editor of the Lexington Herald-Leader. Carroll headed the Cheating Our Children series that documented abuse in the Kentucky Education System. The series won two awards for investigative reporting and $26,500 in prize monies. This series brought major reforms to education in Kentucky. The ten reporters involved with the series donated the prize money to establish a scholarship fund at Alice Lloyd College.